Prologue

In 2005, I traveled to the Big Island for the first time, as the “nanny” for my friends’ kids. The Z’s were looking to buy a condo in Kona, and I tagged along to watch their kids while they went around with the REALTOR. I was hooked. I went back to visit many more times, and was house-sitting for them in August 2012 when I decided, “I want to live here.” Yeah, Hawai’i sounds great and all, but why do I want to live there? To co-opt some of that annoying language I’ve heard, I feel like my best self when I am in Kona (and not just because the humidity does awesome things to my curly hair). I feel peaceful, I love the sound, feel and look of the ocean. The geckos running around make me smile and I talk to them. I want an opportunity to slow down and experience life, which I won’t get living in Silicon Valley where I have to take a job that will cover my mortgage and drive an hour and a half round trip to get there. I need to re-connect with the basics in life, which I got away from when I bought a home here. I have so much STUFF now!

So, here we are in June 2014 and I’m about 3.5 months away from my move. I should have started this blog sooner, but I spend so much time in front of the computer at work that I didn’t want to log on to one when I got home in the evening. However, it’s time. On Sunday.. well, let’s let that be another post, okay? Will you join me on my journey to the Big Island. Aloha and mahalo nui loa.

One thought on “Prologue

  1. THOROGHLY enjoying reading about your new adventure-to-be!!! And I love your writing style. Keep the posts coming as time allows, and I look forward to your wonderful stories of life in Hawaii! 🙂

Leave a Reply

