Moving towards the move

I recently participated in a local flea market to sell off some more of my possessions. It was a long, exhausting process because I did it all by myself and I didn’t quite make the profit I’d hoped (U-Haul is expensive!). I posted something about the experience on Facebook, and a friend of mine commented that selling your stuff at a (flea market) is exhausting and insulting. He is so right, and I hadn’t thought about it like that.

People are judging your possessions, and by extension judging you, when they decide whether or not to buy your stuff. There was a dad who smiled at me as he told his son that it looked like I only had “girl books”. Excuse me, sir, why are you gender-biasing your kid against reading? Should I not be interested in SF/F because those are “boy books”? Should I not have been reading those Clive Cussler and Tom Clancy books of my dad’s when I was a pre-teen/teen, because I’m not a boy? Way to go, dude. Books really shouldn’t be exclusive.

Then there are the people who sneer at some formerly prized possession of yours, or show it to a friend and snicker (troll dolls, anyone?). The people who haggle with you over a collectible item because they don’t understand the value (no, I’m not going to let you buy a President’s Wife for less than $20 each, that’s already a screaming good deal). And all the people who sweep your stall with a quick eye and keep walking, secure in the knowledge that you don’t have anything they could possibly want.

On the positive side, I did sell a lot of items including the kitchen table and chairs. My relief had a lot to do with not needing to haul all this stuff from the van up the flight of stairs to my condo. Since then, I have also managed to take 6 bags of clothing and bedding to Hope Services, and 8 boxes of books to Willow Glen Library. I absolutely made sure to get a tax receipt at both places.

My home is slowly getting emptier, and it’s a good thing to see. It means I’m moving closer to moving, and that soon I’ll be ready to place the condo on the market. This weekend I’ll be in Kona, taking some of my possessions on a one-way journey and starting the set-up process of a new life. My laptop will come with me to chronicle that task, if only because I’ll probably need it to get my new wi-fi network set up. 🙂 Oceanic Time Warner couldn’t do the install the day I requested, so I’m going to pick up the wi-fi modem at their office and do it myself.

One thought on “Moving towards the move

  1. My son,daughter in law,and three Grandkids,did what you are doing about 5 years ago.I get over a couple of times a year,you are in for a very very wonderful new beginning.I love Kona ,and hope you get to know my fantastic family over there.
    Love your blog.🌺Aloha🌺

Leave a Reply

