One month and counting…

I’m moving into the final stretch, pun intended. Now that my big event is out of the way, I can focus back on the move to Kona and I don’t have a lot of time to waste as I fly out one month from today.

Using some references from my friend Julie Ziemels’s upcoming book, “How to Move to Kona Successfully”, I contacted Hawaii Car Transport today. Not only are they a bit cheaper shipping from the Port of Oakland, they also ship to Hilo AND Kona on the Big Island. Cheaper, plus I don’t have to worry about getting a ride to Hilo to pick up the vehicle, PLUS my vehicle will arrive no later than Oct 8? SOLD! Per their website, http://www.hawaiicartransport.com, shipping from the mainland ports of LA, Seattle or Oakland to the Hawaii ports of Honolulu, Hilo, Kahului, Kona or Nawiliwili will run $1075.00 total. According to the nice young man on the phone, shipping takes no more than 14 days. That gives me until Sept 22 to buy a vehicle and get it to the Port of Oakland. Best of all, I get free storage in Kona for 10 days in case the ship arrives before I get there, or I have trouble getting a ride to the port. The CSR I spoke with was able to make me a provisional reservation without me even knowing what vehicle I would be shipping! So far, I’m having a seriously great experience with them and would recommend them. I’ll let you know if there are any problems with the actual transport.

Now I need to hit up my references and get myself a vehicle! Currently I own a 2004 Miata, and that just isn’t practical for day-to-day living in Hawaii. I’d like to be able to go to the beaches and some of them are across lava fields that would rip out the Miata suspension. Also, everyone and their mother will visit me, so I want to be able to accommodate more people than the 2-seater Miata will fit. Oh, and their luggage, but my baby has no junk in her trunk. Buying a second vehicle now allows me to experience the least downtime of being without a vehicle. I’ll just have the 4 days between when the buyer picks up the Miata, and when I go to the airport. As I’ll be staying with my parents, I’ll mostly be staying home to maximize my family time anyway.

Next steps: transferring funds so I have cash to buy the new vehicle, and finding a transport company for the household goods/checking UPS shipping bulk shipping rates.

One thought on “One month and counting…

Leave a Reply

