Being thankful

My last post was somewhat depressing, I realize this. So, I’m looking for things to be thankful for this time around.

I’ve been to the Keauhou Farmer’s Market three of the last four Saturdays, and I have a couple of favorite booths. Having the neon green cast and riding around on a scooter has made me highly visible, and it’s actually been fun to have various people stop and chat me up, asking what happened and making funny comments. The vendors know me and ask how I’m healing, and they are honestly interested. Not only do I get social interaction, I get really yummy food! This week I also had the bonus of Julie and Caylin joining me, part of my Hawaii ohana. It was wonderful to spend time with them.

Speaking of the neon green cast, I’ve been downgraded from a 3/4 leg cast, to one that hits slightly below my knee. When the original cast was removed, my leg felt SO weird. Very lightweight, weak and fragile. I discovered why the doctor moved my appointment to the lunch hour when she started manipulating my ankle before wrapping the cast. My ankle had been immobile for four weeks, and needed to be moved to a neutral position for the new cast. To say I screamed would be overstating the matter, but I will admit to a lot of yelping along the lines of “Ow! Ow! That hurts! Calf muscle! Ow! Ankle! Ow!”. I was okay by the time the cast was on (I got the bright green again), and my knee moved surprisingly well. I started physical therapy the very next day, and while I realize I lost some muscle mass, I didn’t expect the simple exercises to be so difficult. The new cast is much smaller and lighter, but I don’t have as much leg to bear the weight and the healing break is now in the center of the cast. The goal of the exercises right now is to get my knee and hip moving cleanly, so I’m ahead of the game by the time the cast comes off (hopefully 12/8/14) and I progress to a walking boot. It feels very good to have a lighter weight, though the change in my center of gravity is disconcerting. This is progress though, and I’ll take it!

My birthday was last Tuesday, and I had a Skype with one of my BFFs, PT, then pau hana with a couple of girlfriends. Of course I wore my tiara all day, and that was one of the things that helped inspire a lovely man to buy us a round of drinks. He also came over and signed my cast. That was a really good day. 🙂

I spent a bunch of money online doing my holiday shopping on Friday, Why would I be thankful for that? It means that I have family and friends whom I want to spoil with the fruits of Hawaii. Specifically, products from http://www.Hawaii-Coffee-Connection.com. I have one or two gifts left to buy, and hope to nail those down tomorrow on Cyber Monday.

This week started off on a positive note, with one of the new members of my ohana stopping by just to check on me and talk story. He’s been in my position, having a cast for 6 weeks, and it was nice to have a conversation with someone who understands. Tomorrow is the birthday of another BFF. I won’t be with her in person, but I know she’ll feel the love I’m sending her. PT is three days this week, which means three opportunities to get stronger. At the end of the week, I’ll help out with a local holiday fair which ought to be lots of fun.

I have a lot to be thankful for, and ’tis the season for it. I’m looking forward to the holidays in Kona!

2 thoughts on “Being thankful

  1. Having rich social connections is one of the three most important things that helps people live to be 100. I can see you’ve got that one nailed down.

  2. Wow Lis — I just caught up on your life in Hawaii. So sorry you broke a bone! But glad you’re being treated with kindness and local hospitality. Be well and enjoy the island holidays!

Leave a Reply

