Getting back in the groove

Did you miss me? I know it’s been far too long since I posted here. I got busy doing those job things I talked about last time, then at the beginning of this year, I started the journey to buy a house.

Yep, I wanted to become a homeowner again, in my new home of Hawaii. One of the reasons was I wanted to get out of the condo I lived in; another was to stake my claim on the land. I have no plans to leave this island anytime soon, and so it made sense for me to start paying rent to myself in the form of a mortgage.

I’ll go back in time during the next couple of weeks, and touch on some of the things I learned and experienced during the process. Right now, I am celebrating my one-month anniversary of living in my new hale (house)! I closed escrow on May 12, but didn’t move until May 20. It’s been a whirlwind month since then, as I needed to move in, spend several days on a work project the next weekend, have a garage sale the weekend after that, and then finish up with a burlesque show on June 11! Normal life was put on hold for about 3.5 weeks, and now I’m working on balancing my “honey do” list for the house, with my real-life responsibilities.

However, I have priorities. 🙂 I have some friends coming over for wine-thirty tomorrow evening, which means I need to finish putting together the second sectional for my lanai. Also, it’s the solstice, and I have some spells and blessings I want to invoke once the moon rises.

Lots more blogs coming, as I keep finding stuff I want to talk about, if only so I have a written record on what I’ve done and why. I hope you take this next stage of my journey with me, and enjoy it as much as I do. Aloha!

Leave a Reply

