It’s a Small World…

I was fairly informed about technology when I lived in Silicon Valley, and used a variety of tools to accomplish my work and hobbies. Only since moving to a small island in the middle of the Pacific have I discovered just how vital it is in maintaining my sanity. I may not be able to see my friends and family in person quite as often or easily, but I can keep my connections strong and thriving with a little assistance from (basically) the internet.

Earlier this year, I flew to the mainland for a girlfriend’s wedding. I was a bridesmaid, and cherished this opportunity to spend time with some incredible women (and their equally awesome dudes). The photographer is an absolute star and she became a new friend I’ve maintained contact with through FB. One afternoon this summer (okay, evening for the others), I was on FaceBook with the maid of honor (Pacific time zone), the bride (Mountain time), and the photographer (Eastern time), and we were all looking at photos from the wedding in online albums and making hysterical and emotional comments to each other using a group chat on FB Messenger. Four women, in four time zones, sharing the same moment. That filled my heart and soul with so much love.

Bridal PartyPC: Blair Bush, FineArt Photographer

My annual car event in California also gets interesting in the planning process, because the other planners and I are also in 4 time zones: me in HST, one in PST, one in MST and the other used to be in Thailand and is now in Spain. We use Skype for those planning meetings and let me tell you, coordinating those times is a challenge! We also email a lot, I keep my notes on Evernote and my volunteer tracking in Google Sheets which I’ve shared, I get reimbursed by PayPal (wire transfer fees are no joke, this is much better), and there is not only an event website but also a Facebook community page. With all of these tools, it doesn’t matter that we are scattered across the world; we are still able to communicate and share information in a timely fashion.

It’s a very small (digital) world, indeed.

2 thoughts on “It’s a Small World…

  1. Wow, just wow! Technology gets a bum rap sometimes because of social media overuse, but you’ve documented specific instances when technology can bring us together to do good and to share our love for each other. Good on you.

Leave a Reply

